Australia Education System – AQF Levels

Australia Education System – AQF Levels
The Australian education system is distinguished from many other countries by the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF). The AQF was established in 1995 and is a national policy that covers qualifications from the tertiary education sector (higher education and vocational education and training) in addition to the school-leaving certificate; the Senior Secondary Certificate of Education.
The AQF has 10 levels and links school, vocational and university education qualifications into one national system. This allows one to move easily from one level of study to the next, and from one institution to another, as long as you satisfy student visa recruitments. It allows for choice and flexibility in career planning. All qualifications in the AQF help prepare you for both further study and your working life.
If you are studying an AQF qualification, you can be sure that your institution is Government-authorized and nationally accredited, and that your degree or other AQF qualification will be genuine. Our institutions are linked across the country and across the world, which makes it easy to move throughout the education system between courses or institutions and formal agreement and recognition frameworks mean every step of the path will contribute to your future no matter what your study or career goals.
Victory Group – AQF Levels
  • Level 1- Certificate I
    AQF level 1 criteria

    Graduates at this level will have knowledge and skills for initial work, community involvement and/or further learning.


    Graduates at this level will have foundational knowledge for everyday life, further learning and preparation for initial work.


    Graduates at this level will have foundational cognitive, technical and communication skills to:

    • Undertake defined routine activities
    • Identify and report simple issues and problems
    Application of knowledge and skills

    Graduates at this level will apply knowledge and skills to demonstrate autonomy in highly structured and stable contexts and within narrow parameters

  • Level 2- Certificate II
  • Level 3- Certificate III
  • Level 4- Certificate IV
  • Level 5- Diploma
  • Level 6- Advanced Diploma Associate Degree
  • Level 7- Bachelor Degree
  • Level 8- Bachelor Honours Degree, Graduate Certificate, Graduate Diploma
  • Level 9 - Masters Degree
  • Level 10 - Doctoral Degree
!--Start of Script-->